Quartet Pro Musica

Sun 2 Nov
Presented by: 
How to Book Tickets: 


Tickets £15. Concessions £10. Students Free Entry


Quartet Pro Musica was formed in 1955, when the quartet’s original players, all former students at the Royal Academy of Music, were Patrick Halling (today’s current leader), his brother, the cellist Peter Halling, Roger Raphael & Peter Sermon. Michael Tippett coached the quartet in these early days. In 1957-8, Ernest Scott and Gwynne Edwards joined. It was during the ensuing period that the quartet were involved in many highly acclaimed recordings for the BBC (a number of which can be heard as re-mastered recordings via the quartet’s website or direct on YouTube).

The current players, Patrick Halling (violin), Keith Lewis (violin), Richard Cookson (viola) & Myrtle Bruce-Mitford (‘cello) continue to play a wide repertoire, with particular emphasis on English music as well as contemporary composers. For more information on the quartet, past concerts, recordings, biographies, repertoire & noteworthy quotes etc, please go to www.quartetpromusica.co.uk

This evening’s programme has a distinctly ornithological theme to it, featuring two Larks as well as a rare sighting of a Borodin!

1. Haydn String Quartet in D, Hob.III:63, Op.64, No.5 ('Lark') (1790)

2. Vaughan Williams - The Lark Ascending (1914)

Interval (20 minutes)

3. Borodin - String Quartet No.2 in D (1881)

The concert starts at 7.30pm and will end at approximately 9.30pm.